← Back to contents

locations

Locations

Locations are used by Kaluach to determine how information is to be presented to the user. Majore Jewish holidays are observed for two days in the diaspora, and zmanim (halachic times) are calculated according to the location. Kaluach uses a "user list" of locations to allow quick and easy switching of locations. This is especially useful for frequent travellers or for those who have families in different parts of the world. The default user list comes with Jerusalem and Pittsburgh pre-defined. If you need other locations, you can either add to the list, or modify the current entries.

changing the location
    There are two ways to change locations in Kaluach:

    To change the location without changing the default setting, click "Locations" in the main menu and select the location that you want from the "user list" of locations.

    To change the default location (the location that will be used when starting Kaluach):
    • open the options window from the menu entry "options"
    • select the "Locations" page
    • choose the location to be the default from the "user list" of locations
add a new location to the "user list"
  • open the options window from the menu entry "options"
  • click on the "+" next to "Locations" to expand the available location options
  • select "add to list"
  • select from which built-in list you want to add a location (Israel or diaspora)
  • select the location that you want (if you want a location that is not in the built-in list, see how to modify a location)
  • select the proper DST scheme
  • after consulting with the appropriate local rabbinic authority
    • select the proper shita for calculating zmanim
    • select the proper Candle Lighting Times
modify a location in the "user list"
  • open the options window from the menu entry "options"
  • click on the "+" next to "Locations" to expand the available location options
  • select "edit or delete"
  • select the location that you want to modify
  • make all the changes that are necessary (you can create a new location this way by changing all the location data to correspond to a location of your choice)
  • after the changes have been made, the "Save" button will become enabled
  • click "Save" to save your changes (or your new location)
delete a location from the "user list"
  • open the options window from the menu entry "options"
  • click on the "+" next to "Locations" to expand the available location options
  • select "edit or delete"
  • select the location that you want to delete
  • click "Delete" to delete the location from the "user list"
Copyright © Abu Mami. All rights reserved.